Sonya May hem

A stitch in my side

I am… The Procastinator (cape billows in wind)

on January 4, 2013

So anyway, after promising my IT friend that this blog would be awash with posts pre and post Christmas it looks like I was lying all along.  It couldn’t be helped and in my defence I could list many many reasons why I couldn’t (or didn’t) post but that is in the past.  Plus, I’m posting now so it all counts.

I have been busy sewing some bags for my sisters (3) plus a bag for my BF.  All the same basic shape and method.  Cut rectangles for front and back, same for the lining, long pieces for handles, whatever length you like and sew them together.  There are lots of really good basic bag shapes and recipes on the web and it’s just a matter of finding the one that works for you and building your repertoire from there.  I like to make a box shaped bottom on my bags so they sit better and find that cutting a 1-2 inch square at the bottom corners works best for me.  You can also do the sew across the corner method.  I’m all about the technical terms.

These were for the sisters:

DSCN0686 DSCN0687 DSCN0689

Combination of fabric remnants from Ikea; Denim from Sckafs Fabrics and poly/cottons from Spotlight

This bag for my lovely friend, I call it the Long Handled Library Bag:

DSCN0728

Denim again from my Sckafs Fabric stash and the patterned print was some furnishing fabric from Spotlight.  Plus a special wooden button from my very special button collection.

As part of the Christmas festivities I also did a bit of paper crafting, not as much as I would have liked.

DSCN0717 DSCN0698 DSCN0696

Just some simple manila tags from the newsagent, Kaiser Craft rub-ons, washi tape I bought at the last craft show and the Queensland Art Gallery (I know!!) plus stickers from Riot and the Reject Shop.  I decided to make a paper stocking for Ron as I had run out of time for a fabric one and I thought this was a bit of fun (plus he’s 15 so suspected that he wouldn’t really mind).

And I made a cake!!  It was really nice, a light fruit cake – recipe from Issue 51 of Frankie Magazine.  I love anything with cherries so I knew that the Cherry Fruit Cake wouldn’t (couldn’t!) lose.  It was lovely.  Especially with trifle piled on top – so wrong, but oh so good.

DSCN0705

Leave a Reply

