Sonya May hem

A stitch in my side

Scrappy Trip Along

on January 15, 2013

In an attempt to avoid doing other tasks I should be doing (ie, updating my CV…) I have decided to start on the Scrappy Trip Along quilt.  It’s all over the blogosphere right now and if you need some inspiration to get started then a quick visit to Instagram should help #ScrappyTripAlong.

If you’re not sure where or how to start the best instructions to get you going are at Quiltville.  This is such a sweet, fast method – the thought of not having to cut hundreds of 2 inch squares should be enough for anyone to give this method a go.

Now, I do have to say that this quilt is supposed to be a scrappy, random and a chance to use up all the small pieces you’ve been hanging on to forever.  But, I cannot do that.  I am so not a random person – things must be orderly and organised. Instead I have used my stash and arranged my strips into mini rainbows.  In all honesty, I think a quilt like this is open to interpretation and however you approach it is the right way.  No rules here people.

The basic end pattern will be the same, diamonds in diamonds – although I have seen one quilt that has been put together in rows of chevrons which just looked amazing.  Now I’m thinking that’s what I want to do.

In any case, however it turns out I’m pretty excited to get started on it today.

DSCN0744

One response to “Scrappy Trip Along

  1. Thanks for the link to the scrappy chevron page. I think I like it better . One or both of these scrappy quilts are on my 2013 to do list. Love your rainbow choice of fabrics. Happy scrappy sewing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

