Sonya May hem

A stitch in my side

Tuesday on my mind

on February 12, 2013

Well, it’s another Tuesday but I have been so busy today that I haven’t had time to produce a Tiny Tuesday morsel.  Next week for sure.

Instead I have been progressing with the make on my jacket, it’s a Vogue pattern (why are they so expensive!!).  A quick sneaky peek for you:

DSCN0884[1]

It wasn’t until I got home and looked at the receipt for this material that I discovered that it’s actually quilt backing.  I still like it, although my mother keeps insisting that the lighter side is the right side.  We’re just going to have to agree to disagree on that one. [Please also excuse my untidy shelves, Sheldon and Leonard have a lot to answer for!!)

Anyway, the back, side and front panels are all sewn together.  I only had to unpick the top left shoulder three times to get the seams to match – for me that is pretty good going.  Plus, it has not yet been thrown across the room in anger and frustration – a major development in my path to sewing.

I have also been to Spotlight and purchased the backing for the Scrappy Trip Along.  It doesn’t show very well here but it’s more of a green than a blue. I love a simple polka dot, it’s just a timeless and classic design – plus it’s low volume which I really wanted as the front is so busy. {Apolpgies – WordPress does not want to play this evening, I cannot get the picture to load so until then, trust me it’s a really really lovely pale green}

My intention is to cut into it and re-piece it with some of the trimmings I had from the actual trip alongs. I saved everything as I  cut and after spending some time on the weekend unpicking all the pieces I rejoined them into a long ribbon, straightened the edges and I’m pretty happy with the result.  I’ll have to do a proper test before I start cutting into all that fabric.

And talking of scraps and trimmings PS I Quilt had an interesting post today about when does fabric become scrap and scrap become part of your stash?  I’m on the side of keeping anything that can reasonably be sewn to another piece of fabric, I keep even the smallest 1cm wide pieces, even if I can’t use them for sewing I may be able to use them as stuffing or for embellishing a card project. Where do you stand on this important quilting/sewing issue?

One response to “Tuesday on my mind

  1. Trish says:

    More teeny Tuesday please

    Like

Leave a Reply

