Sonya May hem

A stitch in my side

Hello hello, the cat is vanquished!

on March 27, 2013

Well yes, let’s be honest – it has been a while between blogs.   Sometimes life just happens and you need to go with the flow.  Thanks to Mr B for filling in for me that one time, although next time a little more content and a little less posing in front of the camera.

Been plenty busy with the sewing even if not with the blogging!

  • completed the lining on my jacket.  the sleeves are pieced and waiting to be sewn in.
  • my nephew (10) has a real interest in sewing and is always keen for a lesson, so a full Sunday and an after school session with him (and lots of time on my own…) have been filled with making a patchwork quilt (more on this in another post)
  • a quilt for my mum from the beginnings of another quilt I started and never finished
  • working on a couple of bags for a friend for work – something to take to meetings big enough for a binder and a yoga/casual bag
  • small patchwork bag for another friend
  • backing for my scrappy trip along
  • gathering long scraps for my next scrappy, this time a scrappy string along
  • and sorting through my fat quarters, yardage and all the other bits pieces I’ve been hoarding collecting
  • …buying more fat quarters and yardage

But best of all was the Stitches and Craft Show.  I was quite proud of myself given my current financial situation, at past shows I have handed over enough money to prop up a small island nation. This time I took my time, touched every piece of fabric I could and picked up some terrific bargains.

Look at these beautiful fat quarters from Just Patchwork – Comma by Zen Chic for Moda Fabric:

DSCN0944[1]

The British are Coming by Michael Miller Fabrics:

DSCN0946[1]

Type by Julia Rothman for Windham Fabrics [pink typewriter!!]:

DSCN0952[1]

From Fifi’s Fabricology a gorgeous Jelly Roll of Summersville by Lucie Summers for Moda, and from Voodoo Rabbit some lovely Japanese samples, Brownie-Brownie Trefle created by Kokka.  I got these in four colours – natural, linen, dusty green and dusty purple. They are so pretty – covered in old sewing notions and beautiful copperplate text. Some Ruby Star Rising by Melody Miller, the transistor pattern in the three colours, and a piece of London Scene Aqua – Echino 2011 fabric by Etsuko Furuya

DSCN0967[1]    DSCN0966[1]

I also bought myself a 12 1/2 inch quilting square, and new lamp (I know, another one) from the Scissorman and the Daylight Man

I also bought myself a pack of Spectrum Noir Pastel pens, some new paper dies and a little washi tape (I just can’t help it!!)

As always I had a great day browsing everything, stopping and watching the demos, being whacked on the back of the ankles by those shopping trolleys that everyone has to cart around now.  Plus that woman that always seemed to be behind me humming away.  And those babies that were screaming – you were really special.  All in all a good day out I think.

Now, it’s just a case of saving up for the Scrap Book and Paper Craft Expo in June… oh, and then there’s the Craft and Quilt Fair in October…

One response to “Hello hello, the cat is vanquished!

  1. Love your fabrics. Sounds like you had a ball at the Stitches and Craft show. You have been so busy. Your list of projects is very impressive.

    Like

Leave a Reply

