Sonya May hem

A stitch in my side

Let’s go shopping….

on May 29, 2013

I have resisted the allure of online shopping for quite some time.  I just feel that if I start then I won’t be able to stop.  Next thing you know I’m on one of those awful local current affair programs sobbing my heart out ‘cos I can’t pay my electricity but I have six pallets of toilet paper because it was “on special”.  It’s a frightening look into a future that could be… anyway…

So, resisted the urge, blah blah blah.  But then I saw the Lori Holt circle rulers and knew I had to have them.  But, I’m in Australia – we never get the good stuff until it’s well past its fabulousness.  What’s a girl to do – but online shop.

I chose the Fat Quarter Shop because they stock all the Riley Blake fabric and notions.  Easy enough the rulers went in my cart and then it’s that thing because we’re soooooo far away from anywhere here in Oz you really have to make your postage worth it… can you see where this is heading.  To be honest I only bought three of the fifteen charm packs I then proceeded to put in the cart, but they were definitely worth it:

DSCN1169  DSCN1170    DSCN1177

Comma Charm Pack, Zen Chic for Moda; Mod Century Charm Pack by Jenn Ski for Moda; Happy Tones Charm Pack by Michael Miller Fabrics

I already have some fat quarters from Comma so these were to build my stash of this for a future quilt.  Mod Century just has some graphic loveliness to it that I just find irresistible and the Happy Tones, well it is really happy.

I haven’t put any of it away yet, I’m still flicking through them and smelling them (there’s nothing quite like a fresh stack of fabric – or am I the only one…)  The rulers have been quite easy to use, I’ve watched the videos with Lori Holt through a few times and I’m getting more confident with each try, although I’m not about to show anyone the results just yet as the fabric is totally gross.

DSCN1159 DSCN1164

So will I be able to resist the pull of the credit card to the internet.  Well, maybe for a while but I have a long list of jelly rolls and fat quarters that I desperately need…

2 responses to “Let’s go shopping….

  1. You sound just like me. I justify that excessive postage from the U.S.A by buying up to 8 yards of fabric at a time. You have to love internet quilting fabric shopping. It is so much fun waiting for postman to deliver your parcel. I will be one of those hoarders you see on television who was buried under piles of fabric and they won’t find me until they empty out the house. 🙂

    Like

  2. Barbara says:

    I love your posts Sonya – next step a bit of product placement and wallah (as we say in Ippy) – you’re fully monetized!

    Like

Leave a Reply

