Sonya May hem

A stitch in my side

sonya may hem… present

on July 11, 2013

Really, I feel like I should have a note from my mum regarding my absence from posting.  But then, I’d have to explain what a blog is and how the internet works.  Ain’t nobody got time for that…

And yes, it has been a while and I have, in my head, posted some truly brilliant pieces about what’s up and going on but the thought of actually putting something out there in real life has been a struggle.  I have put a lot of effort and time in to some other personal matters recently and have been left feeling a little knocked about by the results.  You can spend hours working on a document and tweak it and hone it and craft it into something so spectacular and it still doesn’t get you anywhere closer to where you want to be.  But, in the end I have to remember to just keep putting one foot in front of the other, hold my head up and focus on what might be around the corner.  Anyway, enough of that…

I have, amidst all the doom and gloom, done some sewing of which I am rather proud.  Paper piecing is my new trick! It’s tricky enough that I really have to think about what I’m doing – lots of unstitching has been done.  But, the end results are so magical.  I just don’t know why I haven’t tried it before!

Of course, I should perhaps have started with something a little less daunting, but I do like a challenge.  The three pieces I have done are all from the Forest QAL which is being hosted by Shape Moth

IMG_0733[1]

I started with the Owl — Otis, did the Feathers and finished my Maple Fox the other night.  There are more in the Forest QAL that I am planning on adding in as well, the Woodpecker and the Aspen Grove and maybe the Roaring Deer and the Squirrel and the Red Panda and the Pine Marten (cute!!).  I think in the end I will make them into a wall hanging quilt.  IMG_0732[1]

IMG_0734[1]

The whole process is quite addictive and I find myself constantly looking for my next pattern.  And gosh, there are so many to choose from. I really like the look of the more traditional patterns as well and have bookmarked a stack of these to work on in between all the other things. And if you are so inclined lots of Dr Who and Star Wars and some brilliant Lego patterns to go!

And it’s really not that hard – a few stop/starts and a bit of thinking music every now and then and I have been quite happy to piece away. Just have to keep remembering which is the right way round and making sure the fabric is big enough to cover the block and the seam!!

Have you tried paper piecing? Any tips, tricks or patterns to share?

3 responses to “sonya may hem… present

  1. Wow. This is great for your first attempts at paper piecing. I have seen a finished Forest QAL on one of the blogs I follow. It looks amazing with all the different animals. Haven’t tried paper piecing myself since I learnt patchwork about 30 years ago. I do remember that I loved how neat it came out.

    Like

  2. Trish Murphy says:

    I love the fox

    Like

Leave a Reply

