Sonya May hem

A stitch in my side

Sew busy…

on August 19, 2013

Well hello!  I just looked at the date I last posted… oops… so much for my “I will post twice a week” schedule.

Anyway, amongst appointments, visits to galleries, lunches and dinners with friends and the continuing job search I have been busy at the Janome.  Even when I make a commitment to do other ‘essential’ jobs at the start of the day I gravitate towards the sewing room by mid-afternoon.  Which is a good thing as I have done a finish on one project, completed some sewing for home and started on my next project (more on those next time).

And a most pleasing finish it has been.  This quilt has been haunting me now for close to two years.  It started as a “quilt” (very loosely a collection of squares that sat in a basket for a long time) for me – which I started sewing not really understanding how a quilt actually came together.

I sewed some squares and frankly got bored. It was a mess of flannelette and cord.

In the midst of a clean-up I discovered this basket again, sorted through the layers and revised my quilt plans.  A decision to make this into a quilt for my mum was the end result.  All the fabric was from Spotlight – some baby cord, small dots cotton and a tiny rose print wintella – all in soft greens with a hint of pink.

My inspiration for the shapes came from the Tsuru quilt by Rashida Coleman-Hale, and again it is plainly obvious that I don’t like to follow patterns or suggested sizings because it looks nothing like it – but it got me going again and the end result – as long as you don’t look too closely isn’t so bad.

IMG_0831[1]

I used the quilt as you go method, a great tutorial here with Maureen Cracknell, which made the whole process a lot simpler.

The actual quilting stitches were stitched using a heavy weight Guterman thread, which I think they call upholstery thread but it really gives a very raised and obvious feel to the stitching which I quite like. Lots of straight line stitching, outline stitching and continuing the shape of the triangles in some of the squares as well.

IMG_0830[1]

The backing is from the Spots and Stripes range at Spotlight – a lovely ombre effect in a blue-green and the binding (hand sewn!!) is a smaller dot in the same range. I refer to the Lori Holt method for binding.

IMG_0827[1]

And although this quilt has been formally gifted – someone still thinks it was made for them…

IMG_0843[1]

2 responses to “Sew busy…

  1. I love your quilt Sonya. It is so pretty. 🙂

    Like

  2. sonyamayhem says:

    Thank you! I love anything floral and pastel. I still have plenty of my squares left so maybe a cushion cover or two.

    Like

Leave a Reply

