Sonya May hem

A stitch in my side

Triangulate

on October 15, 2013

DSCN1492

Another finish to tick off the list!!  I’m calling this Triangulate.

A very simple pattern – just a lot of half square triangles.  I wish I had taken more care when I was in preparation mode to do a little more fussy cutting on some of the patterns – there were some really sweet little animals – although there are still a couple peeking through.

I use natural bamboo batting.  I had to stretch it a little to make it fit as it was a left over from another project.

DSCN1497

I backed with a micro dot and bound with a medium dot, both in purple from the Spotlight – Spot and Stripes range.  The binding was machine stitched on one edge and I hand stitched the other side down.  Quilting was on either side of the diagonal using a long stitch length.  [Don’t judge me, I know it’s really crinkly – it needs a really good iron…]

I’m really pleased with how it turned out.  It’s always hard to imagine how something will finish when you’re just looking at a pile of triangles.  The colours just seem to work together as well, especially with the binding picking out the elements of purple throughout the quilt top.

And what better way to know that a quilt is a success than to have it claimed straight away…

By the cat…

I’m still deciding on who this will go to so maybe as Mr B called dibbs, it’s his…

DSCN1502DSCN1505

5 responses to “Triangulate

  1. hst’s are such an effective block design. I love how your quilt turned out Sonya. The spotty binding and backing is really awesome. Your cat seems to have claimed your quilt. 🙂

    Like

  2. Nice! I love the purple, I know it is a color not often used in quilting but it gives it a nice pop. It is funny, I’ve been thinking I’m going to use it on my current project 🙂

    Like

  3. Love the prints you’ve used in your half square triangles, it’s made it a really happy quilt (if you see what I mean!)

    Like

  4. tamyraptor says:

    Great quilt! It’s a scientific fact that cats love quilts 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

