Sonya May hem

A stitch in my side

Really? November!!

on November 5, 2013

Hey peeps – it’s been a while between posts… I won’t make any excuses about why and I certainly won’t make up some ludicrous story about going on a technology free retreat (as if… why Candy Crush, why!!).  Still, here I am with an update on what’s been going down in the world of May Hem.

October saw the Craft and Quilt Fair in Brisbane.  Much fun was had – I stuck to my budget (sort of) and came away with some lovely bits and pieces.

These two beautiful pieces came from BeBe Bold; both from Sakizomemomen (yarn dyed cotton) collections Cats and Drops. I wish I had bought more.  BBB always have amazing fabrics, sashiko patterns and notions on their stall — on the list for some time in the future is a Sakizomemomen Cut Cloth Pack, the colours are neutral, soft and understated.

DSCN1530

Next up was a trip to FiFi’s Fabricology.  Always a great selection of pre-cuts from Moda — this time around I bought a jelly roll of Sweetwater road 15 which I have been coveting since it first appeared in the big international fabric blogs… oh, to live somewhere that shipping to isn’t such a mammoth expenditure… I also picked up an assorted pack of grey fat eighths in text prints (joy!!)

DSCN1537

Then it was a quick trip to Voodoo Rabbit who stock some amazing and unique prints.  There are always some interesting fat quarters to look at with this stall and it’s hard just to walk away without a couple in your hand. [Winterkist by Monica Solorio-Snow of Happy Zombie for Lecien; Blue Cats on Cream by Kokka; and Passport by Kelly Panacci for Northcott].

DSCN1540

From The Quilter’s Store (another LQS) I picked up three Candy Squares (mini charm packs) by Moda, at 2.5″ they are super cute and a great taste of a whole collection without the big price tag.  My choices were: Comma by Brigitte Heitland for Zen Chic – this is the third time I have bought something from Comma – that’s how much I love it!!;  Scrumptious by bonnie & camille; and Hubba Hubba by Me & My Sister Designs.

DSCN1531

To finish off my day of shopping I bought four fat quarters from Studio Mio (cats, owls, Paris and cupcakes);  some washi tape and buttons from Craft Queen; 2″ diamond template and paper pieces from Blue Willow Cottage; plus a couple of stamps and a pack of paper for Christmas cards.  Some people will be pleased to know that I did not buy any new pens, glitter, liquid pearls or distress inks.

Craft Show is my most favourite time of year! Countdown to Stitches and Craft in March 2014 begins…

DSCN1541

2 responses to “Really? November!!

  1. Bee-uuu-tiful finds there! I love the Brisbane show. The Canberra one is good but not as good as the Brisbane one!

    Like

  2. All your purchases are beautiful – lucky you, I think I covet the Sakizomemomen fabric the most!

    Like

Leave a Reply

