Sonya May hem

A stitch in my side

Dear Blog,

on February 17, 2014

Hi, how are you?  I am well.  It’s been a long time between posts and I know we didn’t mean to not talk to each other but sometimes a little absence does make the heart grow fonder.  I have missed you – the last time we were in contact was before Christmas.  Can’t believe we’re in February already…

I’ve managed to do a fair bit of sewing the last couple of months just in case you were wondering what I have been up to.  Here, see what I made:

DSCN1599

The Stripey bag was for little sister – she carries a lot of stuff around so needed a big bag.  It’s fully lined too.  With a pocket and a fob for attaching her keys. The Pale Blue bag was for dearest friend – she needed a bag to take to meetings at work.  She carries a lot of folders and pens and a drink bottle and glasses and stuff.  She’s super professional.  It’s also fully lined with two pockets.  See how I did the two tones on the handle – that’s because I made them too short but I fixed it plenty good.  The pattern for this came from  Pellon Projects – but of course I didn’t follow the recipe exactly.  Why make life simple.

I made some other bags as well, a couple of what I like to call “long handled library bags” – they’re great for taking to the shops if you don’t want to take a big tote or handbag.  Would love to show you some photos but my camera is holding them hostage.  I’ve also made a start on two new quilts, yes – I know I still haven’t finished my scrappy trip along or my hexie project.  But sometimes it’s good to mix things up a little bit.  I’ll tell you more about those next time.

I also bought some more fat quarters and a couple of metres of Cynthia Rowley fabric from Spotlight. It’s all quite special but perhaps another day I’ll tell you all about those.

Did I tell you I downloaded the Vintage Quilt Revival book  (I got mine from Interweave but if you prefer it’s also in print).  Oh my word! So many beautiful patterns and quilts.  But don’t worry I won’t start anything new until I finish what I’ve already started…

As I said earlier Dear Blog I have missed you and hope that we can keep in touch more often in 2014.  It’s incredible isn’t it.  Where did last year go?

With much affection,

Sonya May Hem

Leave a Reply

