Sonya May hem

A stitch in my side

Doctorin’ the Tardis

on February 28, 2014

Oooh, remember that song… dreadful, but catchy…

I have a very dear friend who is a Whovian – she’s super smart, hilariously funny and a dedicated follower of The Doctor.  As her birthday approached late last year I had in my mind to make her something for her fabulously glamorous home in the city.  Something with a little elan, a certain je ne sai quois if you will. Well, what better than a paper pieced Tardis cushion!

IMG_1157

Now, straight off I’m going to say this was one of the harder paper piecing works that I have done – a lot (lot) of little pieces to contend with, and I struggled with getting points and seams to match.  Notice the wibbly wobbly timey wimey windows.  But, overall, a pretty good job I think.

I used whatever was in my stash – I’ve been hanging on to the cloud print for some time and it was just the perfect background for the Tardis.  The large border has the look of the night sky to it with lots of gold and blue stars on a deep base.

I won’t show the back – even though I inserted a zipper, because in my excitement I made an error in where I was supposed to cut and well it’s not exactly pretty back there.  The Whovian doesn’t mind though – I just told her not to lean, sit, lie or use the pillow in any manner other than for looking or it may come undone.

This pattern was from Sewhooked available from Craftsy– it’s a free pattern as well (woohoo).  In fact there are stacks of fan fic projects out there for just about any obsession… Sherlock, MineCraft, Disney, Lego, Harry Potter, Star Wars and even Grumpy Cat!  If you really want to lose a couple of hours of your day check out Fandom in Stitches.

Sonya May Hem

4 responses to “Doctorin’ the Tardis

  1. Love this pillow Sonya.It is the perfect gift for a Dr Who fan. 🙂

    Like

  2. Love it! My little family got obsessed with Dr Who for a while!

    Like

Leave a Reply

