Sonya May hem

A stitch in my side

The Sister Quilt, Part 4

on May 3, 2014

Another week done – another Sister Quilt completed and gifted!

This quilt was for my little sister, no. 4,  who celebrated a birthday with a big fat zero in it… ha ha.  I won’t say what the first number was but as a clue it rhymes with door.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Sister Quilt, Part 4

 

This quilt was all made from Spotlight purchased fabric – FF Fancy Birdcage; FF Fancy Peacock; FF Fancy Paisley; FF Fancy Bird Toile. These prints are bird themed with lots of feathers and cages and all kinds of curls and leaves.

As with all my quilts I just cut squares and sew them together until I get the size I want.  A method that is yet to fail me! Although I ended up having to buy some additional yardage of the Fancy Paisley and Bird Toile – but not to worry I’m sure the left overs will be put to good use…

I used Quiltville’s Scrappy Trip method to ensure the pink chain fell in the right spot.  I really like using that pattern – it’s versatile and a quick way to construct a top.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Sister Quilt, Part 4 — backing and binding

I chose to do complete machine binding in pink to echo the pink chains – rather than saturate it with any more of the duck egg.  The backing was some flannelette that I had leftover from another quilt – it’s a bit little girly but it is so soft and luxe to the touch, and pink, that it was just the thing to finish it off.  The quilting again was very simple – only this time I quilted just past every second line to keep it puffy and loose.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Sister Quilt, Part 4

Of course, enough leftovers to make a cushion cover…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Sister Quilt, Part 4 — Cushion cover

Pretty sure my sister liked it although I think she may have a struggle with her daughter over who actually gets to use it.

On to the next birthday quilt I guess – Dad turns 83 this month and I have a lovely stack of Sakizome Momen with his name on it.

Have a cheery weekend,

Sonya

9 responses to “The Sister Quilt, Part 4

  1. Yet another beautiful quilt.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Gorgeous quilt and choice of fabrics. I love the cushion too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is beautiful Sonya! Quilts make such a personal, useful and gorgeous gift. I love the colours and the pattern you used !

    Liked by 1 person

  4. mandymunroe says:

    Lovely! I like the fact you’ve kept it “puffy and loose”. A lot of quilts seem over quilted to me and lose their drape. This looks cozy and snuggly.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

