Sonya May hem

A stitch in my side

Hex and hugs and sausage rolls (?!?)

on October 29, 2014

A story in three parts…

Part 1 : Hex

So, I mentioned a couple of posts ago that I finished my hexie top.  Ta-dah…

 

DSCN1665

The Full Hexie. All fabric from Spotlight precut fat quarters.

Now, I’m going to admit straight off that the longer I worked on this the less I liked it.  I felt my colour choices were too jarring and it just didn’t seem cohesive.  But, now that I’ve actually looked at it from a distance (and behind a lens) I don’t mind it at all.  For me though, this whole adventure in EPP has really cemented for me how much I enjoyed the process.  I relished the opportunity to do some hand sewing – although my hands haven’t quite forgiven me yet! – and the slowly building up each of first the petals and then the flowers.

I have further plans for other EPP projects in the future – this amazing gigantic hexie is a must as is this beauty. Oh, and maybe this as well

It really is an addictive way to spend a few hours.  I now have to work out how to back and bind it and this method from Badskirt seems the least confusing and workable for me. Another option is this one from My Poppet.  A lengthy period of thinking music required at this point.

 

Hexie 3

Hexie 3

Hexie 2

Hexie 2

Hexie 1

Hexie 1

Part 2 : Hugs

My niece, Charlotte,  is turning ten in November – I simply don’t know where all those years have gone – and frankly she behaves more like an 18 year old than a ten year old. But anyway, a curious thing as her birthday approaches she becomes much more of a hugs and I love you kind of a gal… I wonder what she’s angling for… hmmmm…. in any case as I have already made her a quilt, this time around I thought I would make a beautiful bed cushion for her using the Warsaw Mermaid paper piecing pattern.

Me: What do you want to be when you finish school and have to work Charlotte…?

Charlotte: A professional mermaid.

There is no convincing her that mermaids aren’t “real”. Gosh, won’t I look stupid as she walks (flipper flops??) across the  stage to collect her Mermaid Diploma from Mermaid Academy.  {lol}

Part 3 : Sausage Rolls

No other reason than I’d really like to eat a sausage roll today.  But I won’t.

♥  Sonya May ♥

6 responses to “Hex and hugs and sausage rolls (?!?)

  1. This is such a summery quilt. I love it Sonya.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Whew there certainly is a lot of movement up close!! But I do like how it looks from a distance, I like how the white pieces break it up. And now I want sausage roll too

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow! Your colour choices are right up my street. This is such a cheerful quilt. I love it! I still haven’t tried EPP but I know I will one day 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. mandymunroe says:

    haha, are you a Blockheads fan? Love those hexies!

    Like

Leave a Reply

